Helen Lempriere Scholarship 2017 Recipients Announced

Posted: August 3, 2017 / News
Ron Robertson-Swann, Inner Sanctum, Sculpture by the Sea, Aarhus 2015. Photo Clyde Yee

Ron Robertson-Swann, Inner Sanctum, Sculpture by the Sea, Aarhus 2015. Photo Clyde Yee

Perpetual and Sculpture by the Sea are pleased to announce the recipients of the prestigious Helen Lempriere Scholarships for 2017:

Senior Sculptor: Ron Robertson-Swann OAM, Sydney, NSW; Mid Career Sculptor: Dr Julie Gough, Hobart, Tasmania; and Emerging Sculptor: Harrie Fasher, Oberon, NSW.

This year’s recipients, who will all exhibit in the upcoming Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2017, represent the strength and diversity of Australian sculpture, bringing three very different works and perspectives to the exhibition. The three Australian sculptors have each been awarded a Helen Lempriere scholarship of $30,000 to further their artistic development.

The artists were chosen from the 300 Australian sculptors who applied to exhibit in Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2017 by the Art School academics on this year’s Curatorial Panel:

  • Dr Malcom Bywaters, Director, Academy Gallery, University of Tasmania
  • Dr. Michael Hill, Head of Art History & Theory, National Art School, Sydney
  • Dr. Nien Schwarz, Artist & Senior Lecturer, School of Communications and Arts, Edith Cowan University, Perth

Congratulations to the recipient artists and a huge thank you to Perpetual for providing this incredible opportunity for the artists.

The scholarships are awarded as part of the Helen Lempriere Bequest, a charitable trust managed by Perpetual, with the purpose of providing scholarships for the applied arts and crafts. The bequest was designed to advance individual artists’ careers by enabling them to travel and study.

Share on: