Our board & team


Alice Spigelman AM (Chair)
BA and MA in Psychology, Sydney. Experience as Advertising Executive, Clinical Psychologist, Playwright, Author and Book Reviewer. Her directorships have included The Benevolent Society, UNHCR, Bundanon Trust, NIDA, Australian Institute of Music and the Rural Leadership Program. Sculpture by the Sea board member since 2010.

John Thompson (Deputy Chairman)
John is an entrepreneur who has a background in science and business, having most recently run environmental and mineral laboratories, and now being semi retired has a continuing interest in ceramics for the mining industry, as well as building office complexes for the burgeoning local resources industry. He has a lifelong interest in the visual arts right from loving the Louisiana Sculpture Park in Denmark during the Copenhagen stage of his 13 year overseas odyssey as a young executive, through to today, and as he puts it, “enjoying the energy and vitality of our Bondi and Cottesloe exhibitions”.

John and his wife Soosie have been involved with Sculpture by the Sea, Cottesloe since its inception as donors, collectors, as a sounding board and as supporters of individual artists, either paying their freight and airfare expenses to Perth or putting them up in their house.

Simon Bloomfield
Simon Bloomfield is one of Australia’s most respected Integrated Creative Directors/Copywriters. His experience includes being creative director of Euro RSCG Partnership’s integrated DM division and head of the creative department of Clemenger Proximity. He then led the creative output at OgilvyOne Sydney, winning awards with clients such as American Express, Telstra and Purina-Nestle. In 2013, he joined independent customer experience agency MercerBell as Creative Group Head, and is now Creative Director with clients including MasterCard, Toyota, Fitness First, the Australian Paralympic Committee and Foxtel. Sculpture by the Sea board member since 2014.

Ross Drinnan
Ross is a partner at law firm Allens, which has been a long-term sponsor of Sculpture by the Sea. He is also the Chairman of Law Firms Australia and a member of the Advisory Council for the UNSW Law School. Ross has been a Sculpture by the Sea board member since 2014

David Handley AM
BA LLB (Sydney) and LLM (Kings College, London). Founded Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi in 1997; Cottesloe in 2005; Aarhus, Denmark in 2009 under the patronage of TRH Crown Prince Frederik and Crown Princess Mary of Denmark. Produced five Sculpture by the Sea exhibitions for the 1998 Sydney Olympic Arts Festival. Established the incorporated association to run Sculpture by the Sea in Australia in 2003. Trustee Australian Museum (2002-2010). Board Member International Sculpture Centre, USA (2008-2012). The Shane Gould Swimming Project (2008-present). Sculpture by the Sea board member since 2003.

Philip Spelman
Spelman has a broad professional sculpture practice. He is activity engaged in exhibitions, commissions and conference programs, as well as technical management and consultation with international art studios, and educational programs. A sculptor for more than 30 years, Spelman works in both painted steel and unique cast bronze. He is a member of the Sculpture by the Sea Decade Club, having exhibited at Bondi 16 times as well as multiple times in both Cottesloe and Aarhus exhibitions. Awards include Helen Lempriere scholarship and the NSW Regional Art Acquisition Award. His sculptures are held in many public, private and corporate collections, nationally and internationally. Spelman was appointed a Director of Sculpture by the Sea in 2016.

Caro Stewart
Now based in WA, Caro resided in London, England for 11 years. Qualifying with a Dip Ed, Caro taught for 5 years in WA. She then worked as an Interior Design consultant, before concentrating on raising a family of 4. Carolyn has undertaken a number of property projects in London and Australia. She has been President of the Mothers’ Auxiliary at Scotch College, a board member of Solaris Care and is currently a director of a private charitable foundation. Carolyn is a supporter of numerous causes including, in particular, the arts in Western Australia. Sculpture by the Sea board member since 2014.

Alexandrea Thompson
Alexandrea is a practicing senior commercial lawyer with 20 years’ experience, both in private practice and in-house. Also a Visiting Researcher at Harvard Law School researching legal issues in respect of visual arts, museums and legal protections for cultural heritage. In addition to legal qualifications, holds Bachelor (Hons) and Masters degrees in History of Art, (Masters thesis entitled “National Identity in an International Context: The Exhibition of Australian Artists at the Venice Biennale”).  Alexandrea has a strong personal interest in the arts; community arts events and education opportunities for children.



David Handley AM – Founding Director
Davina Corti  Acting General Manager & Director of Sculpture Sales
Andrew Williams – General Manager – Finance & Administration
Philip Wadds – Site Manager
Karin Jacobi – National Sponsorship Manager
Petra Pattinson – School Education, Access & Inclusion Programs Manager
Mike Rees – WA Stakeholder Consultant
Suzie Clark Production
Su-Wen Leong – Marketing Manager (Maternity Leave)
Jennifer Fowler – Marketing Manager
Di Caskey  Design & Web Manager
Ewan Isbister  Philanthropy Consultant
Ella Hayes  Sculpture Sales Business Manager & Philanthropy Coordinator
Chris Roberts – Exhibition Accounts Manager
Trent Marwick – Assistant Site Manager, Technical
Carolina Mayrink – Assistant Site Manager, Logistics
Zoe Kazic – Exhibition Coordinator
Emma O’Neill  Sculpture Sales Coordinator
Jessica Polaschek – Sponsorship & Events Coordinator
Caitlin Chao – Designer
Ally Chuang – School Education Program Coordinator
Regina Wadds – Exhibition Assistant