Aqualand Sculpture Award

Posted: October 29, 2016 / News

Western Australian artist Johannes Pannekoek announced as recipient of the Aqualand Sculpture Award

The Honourable Gabrielle Upton, Attorney General, announced Johannes Pannekoek from Perth, West Australia as the recipient of the $60,000 Aqualand Sculpture Award for Change Ahead at the launch of the 20th annual Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi on 20 October, 2106.

The $60,000 acquisitive award is the most generous annual sculpture prize in Australia and provides a considerable boost to the artist’s career. The award-winning sculpture will be gifted to North Sydney Council for placement along the Sydney Harbour Foreshore.

Honourable Gabrielle Upton, also announced on behalf of NSW Premier Hon. Mike Baird that once the sculpture is installed, it will form part of Sydney’s latest outdoor sculpture showcase, The Sydney Harbour Sculpture Collection. NSW Premier Mike Baird congratulated the Sculpture by the Sea team on reaching a major milestone in 2016. “Sculpture by the Sea has been drawing crowds to this beautiful stretch of Sydney coastline for 20 years and has become a highly-anticipated annual event,” Mr. Baird said.

“It’s an iconic exhibition that continues to renew itself year after year, surprising and delighting audiences and enabling it to grow to become one of the world’s largest free sculpture exhibitions.

“I congratulate organisers for successfully captivating our imaginations for two decades, and wish them all the very best for the next 20 years.”

Aqualand Managing Director, Mr. Jin Lin said, “As Principal Sponsor of Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi, Aqualand is delighted to continue the tradition of donating a $60,000 Sculpture Prize and we congratulate Johannes Pannekoek on this great achievement.

“At Aqualand, we encourage new ideas and innovative ways of thinking and doing, so, supporting this prestigious event is something we’re very proud of. We couldn’t be more pleased to be recognising the creativity of all artists exhibiting in 2016, and particularly Johannes for his winning sculpture. This sculpture will be gifted to North Sydney Council for
permanent public display at the end of the exhibition, giving the people of Sydney and its visitor’s access to enjoy the artwork for years to come.”

“Thank you to everyone who has joined us on the Bondi coastal walk since 1997. Congratulations to Johannes on this award. The gifting of his sculpture for permanent public placement on Sydney Harbour at North Sydney is a great way to celebrate our 20th anniversary,” said Founding Director, David Handley. Johannes Pannekoek was chosen by this year’s judging panel:
– Carl Christian Aegidius, Private Collector, Denmark
– Sasha Grishin AM, FAHA, Emeritus Professor, Australian National University Canberra, Art Historian, Art Critic, Curator; and
– Denise Mimmocchi, Curator, Australian Art, AGNSW

Johannes Pannekoek was at Bondi this morning to receive the award for Change Ahead – the one tonne corten steel sculpture he drove across the country from his home in Gooseberry Hill, Perth for the exhibition. The huge sculpture is inspired by the non-linear nature of life. In his artist statement he says, “We live, we learn, we change.” The trip across the Nullarbor took four days and the sculpture is now installed on the grassland behind Tamarama Beach.

Johannes is a Western Australian artist and sculptor combining his skills in creative design, engineering and material finish. Whilst always being involved in artistic pursuits both personally and commercially, he worked in engineering for 25 years before devoting himself to his artistic ambitions full time. It is the first time he has been shown at Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi although he has exhibited at Cottesloe four times previously.

Recipients of the major prize for the past 19 years:
2015 Jörg Plickat, Germany, Divided Planet
2014 Peter Lundberg, USA, Ring
2013 Stephen King, NSW, Fallout
2012 Peter Lundberg, USA, Barrel Roll
2011 Paul Selwood, NSW, Paradiegma Metaphysic
2010 Keld Moseholm, Denmark, Mirroring
2009 May Barrie, NSW, Time and Tide Granite Monolith II
2008 Mark McClelland, NSW, She Thought
2007 David Horton, NSW, Yesternight: a Work in Progress
2006 Orest Keywan, NSW, … And with a Name to Come
2005 Václav Fiala, Czech Republic, Chapel
2004 Václav Fiala, Czech Republic, Belfry for Jørn Utzon
2003 Richard Goodwin, NSW, Carapace
2002 Kate Davis, England, Target
2001 Nigel Harrison, NSW, Omeomi
2000 Libby Bloxham, NSW, Celebrating Diversity, and Richie Kuhaupt, WA, Hollow Man
1999 Orest Keywan, NSW, With a View
1998 Campbell Robertson-Swann, NSW, Night Passage
1997 Michael Le Grand, ACT, Deshabille, and Duncan Stemler, NSW, Venus

Share on: